Anoush Rima Tatevossian

Managing Editor

Desa Philadelphia

Senior Editor

Lorena M. Sanchez

Staff Editors:

Hiva Feizi, Alexis Haftvani, Tala Mohebi, Daniela Montiel,

John Nahas, Paul Rockower, Leah Rousseau


Nathan Carter, Publication Designer

Colin Wright, Web Designer, colin is my name, www.colinismyname.com

Faculty Advisory Board

Nicholas J. Cull, Director and Professor, Master of Public Diplomacy Program, USC

Philip Seib, Professor of Journalism and Public Diplomacy, USC

Geoffrey Wiseman, Director, USC Center on Public Diplomacy

Ex-Officio Members

Laurie Brand, Director, School of International Relations, University of Southern California

Abby Kaun, Associate Dean of Academic Programs and Student Affairs, Annenberg School

Sherine Badawi Walton, Deputy Director, USC Center on Public Diplomacy

International Advisory Board

Simon Anholt, Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Place Branding and Public Diplomacy

Matthew Bonham, Co-Director, Newhouse/Maxwell Public Diplomacy Program, Syracuse University

Andrew Cooper, Associate Director of CIGI and Professor of Political Science, University of Waterloo

Geoffrey Cowan, Professor and Annenberg Family Chair in Communication Leadership, University of Southern California

Harris Diamond, CEO, Weber Shandwick Worldwide

Kathy Fitzpatrick, Professor and Director of Graduate Studies in Public Relations, Quinnipiac University

Eytan Gilboa, Professor and Director of the Center for International Communication, Bar-Ilan University

Howard Gillman, Dean of USC College of Letters, Arts and Sciences

Peter van Ham, Director, Global Governance Research Programme, Netherlands Institute of International Relations Clingendael

Markos Kounalakis, President, Washington Monthly

Evan Potter, Professor of Communications, University of Ottawa

Ambassador William A. Rugh, U.S. Foreign Service (Ret.)

Crocker Snow, Edward R. Murrow Center for Public Diplomacy, Tufts University

Nancy Snow, Associate Professor of Public Diplomacy, Syracuse University

Philip M. Taylor, Professor of International Communications, University of Leeds

Shibley Telhami, Anwar Sadat Chair for Peace and Development, University of Maryland

Abiodun Williams, Vice President of the Center for Conflict Analysis and Prevention, United States Institute of Peace

Ernest J. Wilson III, Dean and Walter Annenberg Chair in Communication, USC Annenberg School for Communication

PD is a publication of the Association of Public Diplomacy Scholars at the University of Southern California, with support from the USC Center on Public Diplomacy and the School of International Relations.

Its unique mission is to provide a common forum for the views of both scholars and practitioners from around the globe, in order to explore key concepts in the study and practice of public diplomacy. PD is published bi-annually, with an accompanying web magazine, www.publicdiplomacymagazine.org.

PD seeks contributions for each themed issue based on a structured solicitation system. Submission must be invited by the editorial board. Unsolicited articles will not be considered, or returned. Authors interested in contributing to PD should contact the editorial board about their proposals. The opinions expressed in PD are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect those of USC and the supporting organizations. Authors are responsible for ensuring the accuracy of their statements. Copyright of published articles remains with Public Diplomacy (PD) Magazine. No article in its entirety or a part thereof may be published in any form without proper citation credit.

PD welcomes your questions, comments and suggestions at [email protected]